Front of house is not somewhere you’re likely to see me too often, it wouldn’t look too good if I were sitting by the bar, in full costume, reading a newspaper whilst the audience were coming in, would it? However, on the first night I did manage to escape from backstage and capture you all arriving at Birmingham Hippodrome. Derived from the Latin auditorius meaning ‘pertaining to hearing’ (not that that is particularly relevant here…) the auditorium is of course where you sit to watch the action – all 1737 of you. As you can see, I also managed to creep in and snap a few photos whilst the company were rehearsing (hence the lighting desk in the middle of the seating) and as you were all taking your seats on opening night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Well that’s about it from me for the moment. I hope you’ve enjoyed the pictures of this year’s The Nutcracker. David Bintley’s awesome Cinderella is back next Christmas so I don’t know what I’ll be up to, panto somewhere, probably… See you in 2013 KR

